College and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

The vision of the policy is to make all faculty should make a time to work outside the academic world which correlates with the courses they teach. College and university can broaden out the spectrum of the field that they possess since all faculty member will bring the new methodology and technology. Especially in science, most company and government are willing to make very best possible innovative ideas that will engender another level of future society. Faculty member would notice the social aspects of outside the academic world and this prospective will surely helpful for the academia to inform their students. Take for instance, industry of related to biology is now even making new teeth by having Alzheimer’s genes whereas the academic study is only showing that Alzheimer’s disease is bad. Faculty member should know the aspect of the recent vision of society so that they could be more beneficial to themselves to learning more and teaching more. Eventually, college and university will have more aims to help and support the policy about requirement of all faculty member learning the outside the academic world.

On the other hand, there is some dissident about this policy because faculty member should know and better to teach the fundamental value in the classroom. All faculty members from college and university are mostly master degree or Doctor of philosophy in the specific field. They know perfectly about the study that they teach and students follows the work of professors or faculty members. The way of teaching the course should be enough in their knowledge that they have. However, the main reason to have this policy is not about how much does faculty member know about the course they teach, it is about how much faculty member impassioned about what they teach. Even though professor knows material perfectly, he or she should not stop learning. Therefore, this should be valuable policy.

In closing, the policy from college and university is very reasonable stance because all faculty member would increase value of teaching method, apply a new methodology in their courses, and it will be beneficial to the students that faculty have and finally, this policy is about how much faculty member is passionate about the courses they teach. Therefore, the policy should be remained as a requirement for all faculty member.