College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

College students, while faced with a plethora of options to choose for their careers, do need to consider the future job prospects in that field. Although this decision largely depends on a person's financial situation, it may seem more prudent to choose a field of study that offers a good amount of jobs.

Students from a middle class upbringing constitute a major section of the society. With limited funds to pay for college, it is a necessity for these students to secure a lucrative job to ensure a financially stable future. With reputed colleges demanding higher fees, these students often have to bear the burden of taking a loan for their college education. Having such a financial burden at a young age further narrows down their choices for the field of study. They ultimately choose a course which lands them a job, giving them their much longed financial independence.

With the growing age of computers and the booming software industry, the demand for software engineers has increased drastically in the past 10 years. While computers and electronic gadgets continue to dominate most of our tangible world, this demand is not likely to go down. To commensurate this rising need for software engineers, there is a tantamount increase in students pursuing computer related courses in college. With the promise of a high paying job, a lot of students tend to take up such courses even if their primary interest is outside of computers. In contrast, the proportion of successful versus unsuccessful people in fields like sports and alternate careers is so discouraging that students hesitate to pursue their passion even if they are good at it.

However, the fact that one would pursue a career in something they may not be particularly interested in may seem unfair, it depends on the individual to decide whether he is happy with the path he has chosen. Some long to pursue what they love as a career, while experience the greatest euphoria when they receive their paychecks.

The choice of career path depends on the person's financial situation. If one can afford to live without a job and take the risk to pursue what they really want, one should not think about job prospects. However, if they are tied down financially, it makes a lot of sense to opt for a career that guarantees a job.