College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

The choice of field of study for a college student depends mainly on two factors : first one is their interest i.e. in which stream they want to pursue their careers and the second one is money. Generally most of people go with the latter option i.e. money as they think money is their utmost priority so they pursue their careers only in that field in which they think their is plenty of job options but for me one shouldn't go with the latter option instead they should try to go in that field in which they have interest. it is due to the following reasons :-

As there is a saying that : Jobs fill your pocket but interests or adventures fill your heart and the ultimate desire for a man is self-satisfaction and one can only be satisfied when his heart and soul is satisfied. for instance : In the last decade their are plenty of job opportunities in the banking sector so most of students are opting for commerce to pursue their careers in the banking sector to earn a lot of money, without any interest they join the banking jobs. As a result they have to spend their whole life in a small cubicle of the office and the ultimate result is anxiety, frustrations, physical and mental illness etc. Even there is emergence of difference between him and their families and sometimes the result is even direr.

Another reason is you can't foresee the future. There are jobs now it doesn't mean it will always remain the same. For example take the case of engineering. There were plenty of job opportunities few years back in this sector but the scenario is totally different in recent times and most of the college students who opted non-medical and pursued their careers in this stream are unemployed now.

Another reason is when you go in opposite direction to the interests their is great chances of failure, one doesn't pay any heed to the information and he maybe sacked too by the company. Work you do without any interest always go into the vain.

So at last I would like to say that as you can't see the future and also the job opportunities that they will b e their for you in the future or not so always go with your interests as the ultimate desire for a man is self satisfaction and the self can only be satisfied when you go with your interests rather than being a money-minded person.