Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

A good teacher is one who knows and explains theory in an understandable way. A great teacher is one that has used experience to put that theory in practice and then pass that knowledge to its students. There are several up and downs to the statement presented above, and in the next paragraphs I will discuss them, and explain why I do not fully agree with it.

First, one of the great benefits of having faculty members working in their field and outside the academic world is that they learn and adapt what the ways that theory applies in a practical world, and in the end of the day, it is practice and not theory, what makes progress in this world for the benefit of society. Having modified their teaching methods to invigorate their classes, they will be able to prepare their students better. Although one has to keep in mind that not all courses have a practical use outside the academic world, and that their teachers would probably have nothing to do with work outside of it. One example of these types of courses could be an English teacher or even a History teacher, which fields are purely academic, and have little to no place outside of a school for work.

Another advantage of having faculty members working in their fields outside of academics is that they can get funding for real world problems research in a company, or even get the company to fund the school, which today is a great way to solve company problems and benefit the school’s programs and students. But even when this would bring great financial benefits, it could mean that the teacher dedicates less time to his classes and focus on the company’s needs, hindering the students’ progress and instead of fortify their education, it would probably curtail it.

Finally, enforcing this policy on faculty members could cause more problems in the long run, since it could be against the personal wishes of some members, and being forced to work outside academics could be a deal breaker for them. On the other hand, a faculty member that accepted to work in the industry could find himself in a better position than he would have thought, and he could resign the school and leave to work full time with the company. This overcome would be disastrous for the school, since it is certain they would not want to lose members.

In conclusion, enforcing all faculty members to work outside of the school’s world is unnecessary and could be counterproductive for the reasons mentioned above. The school should instead make a consensus with the faculty members and let work only those who desire it, with the condition that they will not forget their obligations with students, and that they would not resign their current job to go working full time with the company.