Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Essay topics

The statement present a very narrow perspective.The author of this statement claimed that college and universities should require to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.May be the author think that it will enhance their performance as a mentor with in the class.Beacuse the teacher will spent most of his time in the field which he inculcate.For being a good teacher its not necessary for a person to spent his most of the time within his academic field.A faculty position for a person may be a source of his livelihood and he may have another hobby or passion.Thats why im not much supportive to this view.

Its a good thing if any faculty of a university spent his extra time outside his academic world with in his academic field.This will enhance the knowledge about his academic field.He then explain the subject phenomenon to his student more diversly.By doing this he always up to date about current development of his academic field which will help him a lot during his teaching.On that position the authors position may be acceptable.

Now considering a physics faculty who have hobby of writting or in any musical instrument.Out side his academic world he spent his time in writing or with his favorite instrument.This does not mean that he is not a good teacher.Its possible for a person be a good physics teacher as well as a writer.And its most possible for this teacher to explain his student about the world outside physics.Students will have a good perspective about the real world.

Further more a person should be free about his choice,its his basic rights.no one have the right to force any one to do any thing.

At the end i want to say if any faculty want to spent his time outside his academic world within his field which he taught,then its good thing.but universities should not force any faculty to do that.