Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

From a student's point of view it sounds great to be taught by people who know the nuisances of the industry. The statement avers that higher education institutes should require their faculties to gain experience working outside the academic world. While the benefits of this assertion might prove to be a boon for modern education system, its repercussions might be nothing short of a bane. Although a qualified approach to implementation of the idea can result in an optimum award. Further discussion shall elaborate the reasons for this position.

To begin with, having teachers who have hands-on experience of industry requirements and trends, will result in a more precisely guided teaching. It is good to have a teacher who has a wisdom that can be trusted with. Take for example, the choice is obvious in a war zone when one is provided with option to join a team of people who have master's degree on war, on the other hand, a team of marines.

In addition, this implementation can bridge the gap between the teaching institutes and the industry. A huge amount of fund is invested by the firms for training and enhancing the students to be able effectively work in the industry environment. Having teachers that are familiar with industry environment will aid this institutions and industries in creating more refined talent. Take for example, several institutions require their students to take internships and part time jobs so that they could get familiar with the nature of job.

Moreover, teachers have a vast knowledge from tomes that might prove to be helpful for the industry employees. These teachers, naturally, will edify many employee of their aberrations from the knowledge and enhance their skills too. Thus the relationship might prove to be fruitful to both the institutions and industry.

However, making it compulsory for every faculty is a point of concern. As it will prove to be an arduous task to manage time for both the students as well as job for any teacher. Another issue that might surface is the depletion of number of quality researchers. Both faculty and students tend to dedicate a lot of time researching and enhancing the knowledge itself and its applications. Therefore mandating any such implementation may not have all positive impacts. A path in between like, preferring teachers with industry experience and work on weekends of industry educational tour for teachers might prove more fruitful.

Conclusively, the suggestion that teachers should take jobs is a double ended sword. Although the benefits and consequences of such implementations are clear as crystal. A means of edifying teachers with industry needs should be devised to aid industries and colleges in bridging the gap in skills of their students.