Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

The author proposes that every college or university must mandate students to spend a semester in a foreign country. While the proposition of spending time in a seminary abroad has myriad advantages; making it a compulsion for every student will have its own implications. Therefore, both the rewards and consequences of the recommendation must be weighed before any conclusions can be made.

Admittedly, studying in a foreign country has multiple benefits. It broadens the students’ perspective about culture, creed and religion thus inculcating tolerance and respect for others. Students from developed countries develop empathy and learn the harsh realities of life with the realization of their own privileges while visiting under developed nations. On the other hand, students from third world countries when visiting a developed country gain world class research and learning experience in the state-of-art laboratories and pedagogy. They get the opportunity to develop friendships and networks that might widen their job prospects. They can adopt and learn the best practices from a foreign civilization and its education, health and other systems. In addition, learning a foreign language always stimulates brain and enhances intelligence according to the psychologists. The educational institutes also stand to benefit from the enriched cultural and academic experience of their students.

However, the author’s assertion has ramifications due to its inflexibility in enforcing such a policy for every student. Firstly, studying in foreign country has an astronomical costs associated with it. Travel costs, tuition fees and living expenses can prove to be an unnecessary financial burden especially for students from low income countries. This is further exacerbated by the fact that tuition fees for international students are three to four times more than the domestic ones in many countries. This may force students to engage in part-time irrelevant jobs as it has been a common observation in countries such as UK, US, Canada, etc. Not only this compromises a student’s academic performance but may also prove to be too exhausting and engaging for them to derive the other benefits mentioned above. Further, this struggle might prompt students to seek permanent settlement in that for better financial security which is by far a bigger loss for their native country’s economy.

Moreover, not every student can adapt to the drastic change in their living environment that relocation to a foreign country brings with it. The foremost issue that students might fail to cope with is the accompanying ‘cultural shock’. For example, a student coming from a conservative or religious country to the west might find it extremely inconvenient being surrounded by pubs and night clubs. Or he or she may get completely distracted from studies due to excitement of new luxuries and freedom. Failing to quickly learn a new language for essential communication might give them an alienating experience. Inability to learn and obey the laws of a new land may entangle them in legal troubles. Similarly, falling in bad company is always a possibility for vulnerable students. Such scenarios may jeopardize their whole career.

In conclusion, any inflexible requirement for students to spend time abroad will be detrimental in many respects. A viable way would be to encourage students rather than mandating it so that students despising foreign mobility are not forced. Furthermore, universities and colleges might offer scholarships to underprivileged students and extensive pre-departure training to vulnerable ones.