Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Colleges and universities are grounds for students to learn and develop, both academic knowledge and social skills. A typical college life involves, in addition to all the academic works, involvement in student clubs, work in student governing bodies, organization of cultural and technical festivals, and participation in competitive events. The hectic life of a college student is deeply integrated with the institution itself. Thus, the compulsory requirement of studying a semester abroad would serve to hinder students' development.

No two students are same. A college, thus, should mold its policies in such a way that they put less restrictions on students and be accommodating for different life goals of students. An imposition of compulsory semester at a foreign place puts a restriction which is quite unnecessary. Some students are elected for positions in student governing bodies, a full six-months absence from the institution would lead them to lose significant learning opportunities which they have while presiding over such positions of responsibilities. There are many other activates, which a typical college student takes part in, which a student needs to be involved in throughout the college life in order to take maximum benefit. However, a student not involved in such activates should be free to participate in such programs involving other universities.

To live in a foreign place is always a risky business. There always are uncertainties over the friendliness of environment, food or even people towards a person from different place. In addition, learning foreign language can be a daunting task. Thus, all such adjustments can take significant time, taking up most of the six months period of a semester; it can render the objectives of a foreign university program void. To make such program compulsory, essentially, is to gamble with the odds; such programs would definitely be failure for some students.

A person in favor of such policies would argue the benefits of learning in a foreign university for a certain period: exposure to new ideas, culture and way of living; development of new methods of learning; and creation of international contacts among other things. However, the language barrier involved would devalue most of the aforementioned benefits. Add on to that the money needed for travelling abroad, time needed for adjustments, and other uncertainties, it is much more beneficial to adopt other programmers. Alternatives include: collaboration over internet, organization of international competitions, conduction of foreign tours, etc.

Colleges should not make students to be at some place which they may not want to, as seen from arguments presented above, it can be equivalent to punishment for some students. They should also take into account the kind of academic program a student is enrolled in. So if a program is on basic sciences, it doesn't serve much purpose for a student to be exposed to foreign culture. However, if a program is on humanities, the same may serve to be of enormous benefits.