Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In today's globalized society, college students should be well prepared for the global workforce. Hence, colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying a foreign country. The advantages of learning a new language and new culture will benefit for the student as a great learning experience that will help them build their ability to adapt and improve interpersonal skills required for a successful career ahead. In addition, the students have the chance to meet a diverse body of people who are willing to learn from the student.

College students should study in a different country for at least one semester to become aware of a new society and culture to help them prepare for their future careers. Today, corporations emphasize the ability to communicate in multi-cultural settings as people are working in an ever global society. For instance, the World Bank is an international organization aimed at ending poverty in developing and underdeveloped countries. Although the headquarter is based in Washington, D.C., the World Bank serves the impoverished countries in Africa, Latin America, and Southeast Asia to develop their economic and social infrastructure to boost prosperity and end dire poverty. When students are exposed to different countries and studying in these countries will help college students better prepare for the work environment to work collaboratively and effectively to achieve the goal of economic and social prosperity for a nation. The exposure of the different country will help students to see different methods of communicating and understanding that will make their career more rewarding and efficient when the time comes for the students to work with these developing nations.

While studying abroad will improve the student's understanding of a new society and culture, the students will have the chance to build lifelong friendships and professional networks to help them better prepare for the global workforce. A case in point will be my personal experience having studied abroad in various countries in Canada, The United States, and France. I have built lasting friendships and professional networks that I keep in contact to this day. While these connections will help my career professionally, whenever I have a business trip to attend, then I have the group of people who I can ask for advice or recommendation while in the country. In addition, I have a better understanding of how people interact with each other that will be more helpful when in business meetings, perhaps. The benefit of studying in a foreign country will be helpful for the student of having exposure to different ways of working that will help improve their interpersonal skills.

In conclusion, college students should have the chance to study abroad in a foreign country. The benefits of studying abroad will help the college students have a better understanding of a new society and culture in the future. In addition, studying abroad will help them build professional networks that will be beneficial for the work ahead upon completing their studies in a university.