Competition for high grades seriously limits the quality of learning at all levels of education.

It is debatable whether competition for high grades hampers the quality of learning. Competition could engender negative outcomes that work as a limitation in learning at all levels of education.

To begin with, competition can hinder the purpose of education. The purpose of education is to nurture an individual with moral, character, and intelligence who will be a productive worker of a society. However, with too much emphasis on attaining high grades, the very purpose of education could be defeated. Parent send their children to private schools to gain high grades in standardized tests. Moreover, parents and bribed teachers are willing to engage in manipulation of grades. Having educated under these environment, it is questionable if those children will have ideal character after many years of schools. Extreme competition could corrupt education and eventually, society.

Furthermore, competition for high grades can make education only a tool for success, not a means to acquire knowledge. Education is generally for expansion of knowledge and experience through learning new subjects. Nevertheless, competition could stimulate people to obsess over high grades and overlook their original reason for learning. For example, a college student might become too intense in memorizing the terms and information only for high grades; also, one might study only those subject that will be on exams, thus neglecting other important information. This truly inhibits full learning experience, and a student will only learn skills to obtain high grades rather than knowledge of the regarding subject.

Admittedly, healthy competition could reap benefits. It could motivate people to grow and excel in their fields. Nonetheless, it is extremely difficult for healthy competition to be maintained. Also, through motivation of growing and excelling, people could easily fall into the habit of comparing and feeling superior or inferior on the basis of their performances, thus ultimately becoming unhealthy.

All in all, competition for high grades could have adverse impacts on the quality of learning at all levels of education. Thus, a society should put emphasis on other benefits and purposes of education, not on high grades.