Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Everybody is entitled to their own opinion about somebody else’s work, but it is the opinion of the judgement or the expert in that field that holds any value. In todays world this is more true, as experts’ opinions on cinema, books and restaurants are valued in newspapers and magazines.

Experts have a thorough knowledge about their field that is necessary for sound judgement. A novice in a field may offer his opinions, and sometimes even have a new perspective of looking at things, but we need an expert to verify his claims. Only an expert can determine if the views of the novice are relevant in that field. In addition, it is always easy to criticise, but to base this criticism on non trivial points requires an expert. The expert, having an in depth knowledge about his field, can answer the questions about his critique. He is more capable of providing a nuanced approach that could serve a guide to the people working in his field. In a profession like scientific research, it is hard to imagine a case where experts’ judgement is not valued or takes a second precedence to other criticism.

Some believe that experts can be blamed for being biased in their judgement. However, this is not true. In fact, in some of the fields like culinary arts, experts are expected to judge without any bias. Everybody has a preference for a taste in their food depending on the culture they grew up in. Some people prefer spicy where as others prefer bland; some prefer sweet where as others have a sour palate. Such difference make us biased in our judgement of a dish. On the other hand, a connoisseur of food, having knowledge about different dishes all around the world, can appreciate the dish better. They provide a judgement without any bias. Moreover, as their opinions are taken seriously and even published, they cannot afford to be partial. Sometimes, like in the case of Poe, their criticism is more famous than the books that he has criticised.

Thus, criticism of any work should be taken, if at all, only from the expert capable of providing sound reasons for judgement. Because their judgement is being valued and being published, they are not biased in their opinion.