Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

There are certain aspects educators can take into account when considering and investigating the roles schools take in guiding their students. The statement claims that educational institutions should discourage their students from learning what they are not likely to succed. However, I hold the quite opposite point of view, For schools should not be success-oriented and have the responsibility to provide as much opportunities as possible for students to try different things, to get more experience and to discover the world.

The statement suggests educational organizations should dissuade their students from studying something they have a low chance of success. The assumption is that with limited time and resources, it is more efficient for each student to focus on the area they are good at, making them more competitive and more likely to win in the future. For example, teaching a boy without a good voice singing is almost a waste of his time and efforts, which he could be used to practice basketball and even become an NBA star years later. Surely, teaching him basketball seems to be a more wisedom and reasonable choice.

The claim may sounds appealing, is however, not good for the development of a child in the long term. First of all, it is hard for anyone to judge if it is possible for a student to be a leader in a certain field of study, and thus preventing them from learning certain knowledge or techniques may preclude the student from making achievements in those areas. Take myself as an example, when I was in primary school, I wasn't good at writing, and nor me neither my teacher thought I would be a good writer. However, after entering middle school, I gradually became really interested in writing, and made great efforts improving myself under the help from my Chinese teacher. Eventually, I was almost the best student in writing class in my high school. I cannot imagine what would happen if my primary school teacher have told not to spend lots of time on writing just because I was not good at it at that time. Children are developing quickly, and no one knows what will happen to them. Making judgements simply based on a stage in their growth is, if not comletely wrong, but irresponsible.

In contrary to the statement, it is undeniable that learning as much diverse knowledge as possible helps the student to development mentally in a versatile pattern. Scientists have concluded when processing various types of information, for instance, while reading and listening to the music, different parts of our brain are activited. That is to say, although someone does not have singing genes and do not want to be a singer in the future, practicing singing is also beneficial, for it makes sure all parts of the brain are trained equally. The balanced brain development, will in turn, help one to succeed in other fields he is good at and interested in.

For the aforementioned evidence, I firmly believe that educational institutions have the responsibility to provide equal opportunities to all students regardless of their talents or performance in some certain areas. Education is for knowledge and should not be led by future success or outcomes.