Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutes impart education and knowledge.

A student should be allowed to pursue any field of their choice.

All educational institutes have a certain grading mechanism. It provides feedback and review. If a student

fails to pass the minimum criteria then he or she is not given the pass certificate.

But students should be allowed to choose and study whichever field that interests them.

The grading mechanism clearly reflects the students aptitude in the particular subject .

If the low grades do not deter the student and he wants to still pursue the course , educational

institutes should help the student .

Success has always been subjective.whether the student is likely to succeed or not depends on the pursuit

of the student after course completion. The educational institutes have a responsibility to help

all students equally to gain knowledge and learn practical applications of the same .

A student who was pursuing a course in cooking suffered from Anosmia. It is a condition where by she

could not smell. The cooking institute rejected her application. But she did not give up on her dream and

learnt cooking from several online resources. She mastered cooking using a combination of all

the other senses. She focused on the taste and texture of the dish and was able to open a restaurant of her own.

this example shows that a person who is unlikely to succeed can also succeed , as they say where there is a

will there is always a way .When joining the course this girl simply wanted to follow her passion for cooking

and learn from the best resources. Success for her at that point was to be able to learn and complete classes

like other people . But with her determination , success had a different meaning for her later .

To be able to successfully use her talent and serve great food with her signature .had she been accepted

at the university she may not have this route , Thus success is very subjective and can change over time

thus it is difficult to assess individuals potential on likelihood for success by educational institutes.

Not all students know their true calling. Some student may dislike physics but have an interest in aerospace and flying objects

Physics is an integral part of this system . The student has to realize and work through the mundane or some

topics that he does not like but which are important.

In such cases institutes should help student that care about their results

instead of simply dissuading them . Hard work can help achieve wonders. Even if a student is poor in

mathematics, with grit and determination he can surely improve .

But if the institute dissuades the student ,he may never even have a chance to discover his true abilities.

multiple failures act as the steps on the stairway called success.

In case there are problems which cannot be resolved then educational institutes can make the student aware

of the impending challenges.Like for training to be a pilot , it is important to have good eyesight i.e. some minimum criteria for

vision is specified .

Thus for a student that some how hampers vision required for practical tests should be made aware of the situation.

In such a case it is the responsibility of the institute.

Similarly for joining the army a minimum amount of physical fitness is necessary. A student who may be suffering

from a chronic disease can be dissuaded . When practical problems limit the student ,this approach can

be applied , otherwise educational institutes should leave it to the student.

The educational institutes can start a counselling center where students can discuss their

issues and get a feedback . This can help them review the courses and check how it helps them achieve their

current goals. This analysis to explore potential will be more useful than a dissuading mechanism .