Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In contemporary society the belief exists that educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing degree in specialization in which they will be likely unsuccessful. Although this claim has many opponents and I understand the basis of their position, I concur with the policy because of the reasons which will be discussed in details below.

To begin with, we need to answer on a simple question: will you stop a person who accidently walk to a chasm and may perish as a result? My answer is definitely "yes". In today’s society many students who pursue a degree enroll at educational institution at relatively young age and, as a result, do not have sufficient life experience and are prone to be guided by idealistic dreams. In case, a student makes a mistake, the one may finish university or college with useless profession to which one has no interest or ability and a huge student loan which should be paid back. Sadly, I can illustrate this statement from my own experience because my first profession on which I spent considerable amount of money gave me almost no benefits. Consequently, if I had a chance to change my decision, I would like to be advised.

Furthermore, I think that policy should be fulfilled in educational institutions because not all advisers are equally efficient and capable of giving a decent suggestion. Such an educational institution as university has access to students' grades, their average and other personal data which may help university’s staff to give a precise and valuable piece of advice. For instance, a person, who has a low scores at math and physics but has perfect scores at humanitarian sciences wants to pursue degree at engineering, perhaps, should be persuaded to change major field of study because otherwise we may have a bad engineer but might have had a gifted editor or teacher. Additionally to it, educators have a lot of valuable life-experience as well as authority which may be used for students' benefits. For example the same advice given by a parent and by a famous-professor may have a distinct impact on student's decision. In other words, educational institution has a possibility and authority to guide their students to better choice.

Of course, someone may aver that proposed policy violates student's freedom to draw their own decisions. But I dare to say that if a person has a strong desire to pursue a chosen field, no one will be able to dissuade the one. For instance, a great scholar Albert Einstein was considered by his math and physics teachers as ungifted in those fields, they derided his views and discouraged him from studying the subjects. However, the scientist was determined and stubborn and followed his choice. As a result, he gave to us the theory of relativity which has changed our understanding of the universe and its laws. In other words, even if educators made a mistake, a student always has a choice to follow the suggestion or continue to pursue one’s decision.

In conclusion, as far as I am concerned educational institution should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to success because they have necessary material and experience to make a sound conclusion about student's abilities, inclinations and probability to succeed. Moreover, even if educators make a mistake, it may not be fatal for the student but each correct and accurate advice will help students to succeed in their lives.