Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The above statement claims that the educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. However, in order to take such decision there are several factors that are ought to be considered first. The three most important of them are namely - the capability of the institution itself to judge a student, the social and cultural prejudices prevailing and the effectiveness of the methods and criteria used for the judgment.

Firstly, the educational institutions should be competent enough to examine students on various fields and aspects. But apparently, most of the institutions have teachers who have specialty in one particular field and lack of knowledge in the others. In this situation, it is highly difficult to estimate the aptitude of a student based on his performance on that particular subject. For example, Albert Einstein was a below average student in his history class and always used to receive poor remarks from his history teacher. But he was extraordinary in mathematics. His overall performance in school was below satisfactory. He contradicted the judgment of his educational institution and became a legendary scientist.

Secondly, a student sometimes faces several social and cultural prejudices. For example, in a country like India, pupils with strong aptitude for mathematics, physics or biology are considered smarter than those who have an aptitude in arts. So, it is quite common to find a student being persuaded to choose mathematics instead of singing or fine arts. Likewise, gender related prejudice can also be seen. For example, it is common idea that fields like mechanical engineering are for boys, and girls should not insist to pick a field like that. In this scenario, it is quite a demanding task for an educational institution to look beyond such prejudices and fairly evaluate a student’s abilities and predict his success or failure.

Thirdly, the effectiveness of the methods of evaluating a student’s capabilities is also an important factor. The current pattern- examination determines a student’s academic performance in various subjects- is not very effective. It is quite possible that a student with keen interest in a subject may not perform well in exam. Students may suffer from anxiety issues. Anxiety and stress are the leading causes of poor performance amongst students. Autism and other learning disabilities may also severely affect exam scores. Moreover, exams are highly unreliable technique to evaluate a student’s aptitude, as they can be easily hacked by rote learning the study material. So it only provides a superficial understanding of the student’s capabilities.

The present system of evaluation is highly incompetent and fallacious and faces many difficulties and challenges in effectively and aptly judging a student. Also, there are several factors like hard work and perseverance with which a student can improve himself in the field. So in light of this, it is recommended to not allow the educational institutions to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.