Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss to what extent you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

As we know, educational institutions have a responsibility to equip students with critical thinking, ways of solving problems and the knowledge needed in a field. Also, some people believe schools are responsible for dissuading students from the field that they are unlikely successful. Educational experts may know their fields of study inside out; still, they cannot predict a students’ achievements in the field for various reasons. They therefore should not interfere much with the students’ choice of their fields of study.

Very often, students are motivated to choose a field of study. Some students choose a field because of their interest. Some others choose a field because of their family background. For example, their family business needs them to have the knowledge of a certain field. These reasons are motivations which have a substantial impact on the students’ achievements. Motivated by their interest and objectives, students usually put in more efforts and hard work. As a result, students, who are be perceived lacking talent, may surprisingly succeed in the field. In this regard, it will be unfair for school professionals to convince a student to change his field because they think he lacks talent.

Another reason that educational professionals should not meddle in students’ choice of study field is their possible different understanding of “success.” Take the field of education for instance. College professors have relatively higher status in the field and therefore are believed by many school professionals to be successful. Compared with college professors, being kindergarten teachers might be perceived not as successful. However, some students who major in education are good at dealing with young students and enjoy being around children. For them, being a good kindergarten teacher is successful. In this case, if educators insist on persuading a student to change her field based on their definition of success, they will sway the student from her desired successful and happy life.

One may argue that educational institutions are responsible for helping students make the right choice on the field of study. Some students choose a field but later realize that they have chosen the wrong one, and wish someone had told them. It is unfortunate that students later realize they are not born for the chosen field after a great educational cost, such as money, time and effort. Admittedly, this issue happens. However, considering that educational institutions can by no means anticipate how well a student will do in a field, they therefore cannot solve the problem by suggesting him to change his field of study. Educational experts usually judge students based on their academic performance, which is, however, far from enough for predicting a student’s future. Van Gogh is a good example of this point. He had more than two thousand works though he only sold two of them in his lifetime. He was known and failed by his arcane style, past-impressionism. If schools had been responsible for the choice of students’ field of study, based on his performance, Van Gogh would definitely be convinced to stop painting. We would have subsequently lost a legacy. As we can see, school performance cannot be used to predict a student’s achievements in a field. So, educational institutions are not able to help students avoid the possible wrong choices.

In conclusion, educational experts may know their fields of study thoroughly. They can and should provide students with useful information about a field. However, considering schools and educators cannot objectively foresee students’ future in a field, they therefore should not interfere with students’ choice of fields of study.