Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In asserting that the educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing the fields of study the may not be prone to succeed, the speaker fails to acknowledge other diverse issues – fields of study that students might feel inclined toward or have the pertinent talent for it- besides the fields of study concerned with job and vocation. Nevertheless, I agree with the statement only to the extent that it is concerned with career and job-related issues, in other cases, as will be elucidated below, it will not be so.

Due to the ambiguous nature of the phrase “succeed”, I will assume that it means job satisfaction and career choosing decisions. Admittedly, when aiming for a successful career and proper job, students are better off leaving the decisions to the veterans. Take for instance the students in Iran, who choose the field of their study at the age of 15 in high school. Their teachers are their guide for directing them to the right path that is prosperous for a future job. As a result, it is of paramount importance that such decisions are left to people with more experience, which could bring student a lifetime of job satisfaction and welfare.

With these examples, it could be argued that “dissuading students from pursuing a field of study in which they are unlikely to succeed” is valid, but when viewed holistically, it is not because succeeding in a field of study can have multiple definitions. To elaborate on, succession could mean intellectual awareness and knowledge of that certain field of study. If so, I disagree with the statement because as long as a students have the tendency and inclination to pursue a specific field of study, nothing is ought to impede him/her. For example, imagine a student with a talent in music to the extent that he spends a plethora of times behind his musical. It should be taken into account the fact that such passion, no matter what the odds are against the student for not satisfying his math teachers, or even not meeting the job market qualifications for a high salary job, paves the way for his future success in his related field of study, music. Notwithstanding, people might undermine this assumption by saying that such thinking only applies to prodigies, virtuosos, and gifted people. However, just like I earlier said, I will maintain my stand that the statement is only applicable to career and vocation-related subjects.

In conclusion, contrary to the statement above, I agree to the statement only to the extent that it is related to profession and career choosing. Other issues, like being a gifted student, are undermined by the speaker.