Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

There are all kinds of students, some are doing well, but others don’t. For those who are not doing well, they are, frankly speaking, not only wasting their significant time, defraying the cost of expensive tuition, but also squandering the resource from the school putting on them, not to mention the occupied opportunity preventing others who are more likely to succeed in this field. Therefore, it seems that by dissuading those who are unlikely to perform well, it’s possible to save a lot of expenditure and time, for both the students and the school.

However, a study shows that those who are likely to be the most successful in their following career, are not actually those who got a perfect grade in the school, but those who didn’t do well, yet retain their enthusiasm in the field of study. Prompt by their ardent interest toward the study, the once failed students, are able to stand up from the quandary, learn from their failure, and keep moving ahead, slowly but firmly. However, for those who never failed in their study, they are usually overconfident and try to remain a gesture of triumph, even in the later career, as a result, they would rather choose a more conservative, smoother path, because they are afraid of failure and thus become too diffident to undertake risks, where more risks underlying greater success.

From the previous example indicate that the educational institutions can only judge short term failure of a student, but not long term. That is to say, it doesn’t have sufficient amount of information to make precise prognostication for the future in the long run. Nevertheless, it’s the duty of the education system to warn students about his/her failure, in this way, students will make their own judgment, and under the previous assumption, those without much vim and zeal of the study would be more likely to drop than those with.

Conclusively, it is necessary to inform students that he/she is likely to fail, distinguish those are vigorous from aren’t, and then give courage for those with interest but dissuade those without to give more chances for others with more chances to be successful. In this way, not only does the whole system save more cost and time, but also help more students to pursue their dream.