Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Admittedly, Educational institutions are equipped with datas and informations on job outlook, job trends, successful students and the actual state of the society, thereby placing them in the right position to advice students on various fields of study. Some people may go on to argue that the average student is naive, lack the knowledge of his/her chosen field of study and may end up wasting time and money if allowed to pursue a field of study in which he/she is unlikely to succeed. However, I believe that students should be left with the right to choose their fields of study irrespective of the opinion of educational institutions. My position is supported by a couple real world examples.

First of all, lets talk about success. The definition of the word "success" is subjective to various individuals. To some it may mean wealth or financial stability, to another it may mean having a job that gives you time with family and friends, and yet to another it may mean being in a position to serve others irrespective of the income realized. These definitions can go on and on. Now the question is; what is the definition of success by Educational Institutions?. How would an Educational Institution measure a student's potential? some may argue that this can be done through the grades of students. However, it has been observed on several occasions that examinations are not the true test of knowledge because some students deliver poorly when faced with examination tensions and pressures coupled with the time constraint. Students have different IQ. While some learn very fast, some are slow to learn. Some have potentials that are clearly seen while others have potentials that are hidden and take time to mature. For example Micheal Jordan, the world renowned basketball player, was considered by his high school coach as a terrible player who would definitely not succeed in the game of basketball. Albert Einstein, the scientist, was considered dull and unpromising by his primary school teacher. If the Educational Institutions were given the responsibility to choose fields of study for these students, they certainly would have been wrong. Therefore, I believe that students should be reserved the right to pursue their fields of study regardless of the opinion of educational institutions.

Futhermore, many years ago in Nigeria, students were adviced to go for courses like Medicine, Engineering, Law etc that were believed to lead to a successful career. students were implicitly dissuaded from pursuing several fields of study such as music, theater art, physics, chemistry, nanotechnology, etc because of their percieved low market value in the country. They believed that there was no way one can succeed with those fields of study except you want to end up as a primary or secondary school teacher. Apart from the fact that the term "success" is subjective they forget that times are changing and the country is getting developed. Now Nigeria has several oil and gas companies, pharmaceutical industries, Food industries, Art and Music schools etc that are in high demand of professionals from these once believed low market value courses. Therefore, Educational Institutions cannot be saddled with the responsibility to disuade a students from a field of study because they cannot tell what the future holds for that particular student.

In addition, in most developing countries, especially Nigeria, your field of study dont determine where you work or your success in life. most students end up being either underemployed or unemployed. For example, an engineer might end up working in the bank as a customer care representative while the unemployed chemist might end up having a fashion or catering business. Most of these companies provide graduate trainee programs to train graduates on the positions they would occupy in their company regardless of their fields of study. The basic reqirement of these companies is a degree in any field because it is believed that as long as you are a graduate you have the ability to fit anywhere in the society.

In situations like this, some students may wish to study courses for self fulfilment or to gain a deep knowledge of a particular field of study. Therefore, students should be allowed to choose whatever field of interest they want to study.

Therefore, I believe that students should be allowed to choose their fields of study irrespective of the opinion of educational institutions. The subjective meaning of the word "success", the inability to accurately measure the potential of a student, the evolving world, and the disregard of fields of study in several companies in developing countries are examples cited to support my position. Every student has a dream of who he/she wants to be in life and there is a general saying: if you can dream it, then you can do it. Therefore, students should be allowed to pursue whatever field of study they desire and be left to see what the future holds for them.