Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Education plays a major role in deciding the career of students. Fields of study decides the career of an individual. In certain fields career seems quite lucrative, financially.

Career is important for every person. When student chose a field for which career is not at all good and if students don't get jobs after their education is complete, institutes' reputation also get affected. In this case students can regret their decision. This possibility motivates institutes to encourage students to take careers into account. So institutes decisions to encourage students to choose field based on lucrative career seems justified.

But is the education's sole motive is to earn money?

In case when educational institutes encourage students to choose some preferred fields then talented students who could have done great in a particular field of their interest will be choosing the fields based on the money. People will be working in fields which do not interest them. This is neither good for those fields nor for students as when they get the money they might regret their decision in future because of lack of satisfaction. The fields which do not have lucrative career will also suffer from lack of students and there will be acute shortage of professional in those fields. This will create a balance shift in market. The fields which were lucrative once will have abundance of workforce and will become less paying.

Students should study the fields where their interests lie. Educational institutes' aim should be providing quality education for all the fields. I