Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

The speaker asserts that it is necessary to encourage the students in educational institutions to study in the field which will result lucrative careers in the future. I primarily agree with the assertion; nevertheless, there exists some flaws because speaker overlook some adverse effect that come along with advantage.

To begin with, to suggest students to take the courses that would make lots of money for them seems good for students. When I was a high school student who is going to choose the subject that I want to be my major, my teacher told me that your chemistry and physics is great, why not choose chemical engineering as your major because chemical engineering is really promising. Every common thing like bottle, gasoline, mart phone which manufacture processes are related to the knowledge of chemical engineering. It is very crucial for the development of technology and society. As a Taiwanese college student who is major in chemical engineering, I really happy to choose this right choice. The first-job salary I will receive is really satisfied and reasonable compare to most individual in Taiwan. So, I really appreciate my teacher to suggest me to study chemical engineering.

However, my classmate is not really lucky. Even though he choose to study chemical engineering based on the same reasons as me, he just feel unhappy with the circumstances now. He is good at chemistry and physics. He got all he should need to study chemistry and physics but enthusiasm. For all he got good grade on his tests and successfully graduate, he eventually change his way to be a writer. It is important to ask what you really want. If you want to be rich, you would be content with the choice and result, lucrative career, which will make you rich. On the other hand, if you just want to pursue your dream like writer, the money is not the things you care about, you have better ask yourself and choose which would make you a writer.

Finally, educational institutions can encourage students to study that would result lucrative careers. Nonetheless, educational institutions must also encourage and guide the students to find what is they want to not regret someday, the decision making cannot depend on merely one reason. There plenty of conditions you have to consider such as whether you love it, what kind of job I will get after graduating and do I love this job or even what percent of girl is in this college..., etc.

To sum up, although encouraging the student to choose fields of study that will brings about lucrative careers might benefit to part of student like me, rest of student have other directions and goals cannot be sacrificed in this system. It is what we should do to encourage student to follow their heart and give them lots of information. After all, the decision making cannot be constrained by a factor.