Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

While educational institutions are responsible to provide students with a realistic picture of what qualities or skills are expected in their desired fields of study, they are never in a position to dissuade the students from pursuing any fields of study, even the likelihood that they are to succeed in the field is minimal.

It is a widely-held belief that everyone has their own designated role in the society determined his or her talent. Instead of trying to excel in all realms of knowledge, focusing one's energy on where one's talent lies is the most economical way to succeed in that field. This forms the main argument for colleges to guide students to the field that they are most competitive in. However, in reality, this rather idealistic policy becomes problematic.

The process of judging a student's likelihood of mastering a field of study can be prone to bias and fallacy. A straightforward judgment can be made based on a student's background. Under this policy, the college may decide that an international student is less likely to succeed in the field of poetry, as English is their second language. While this assumption seems entirely reasonable and is potentially true in most cases, there are amazing foreign writers, such as Joseph Brodsky, who picked up English very late in their life, and produced spectacular work that inspired generations of English speakers to come. This is because they have passion for their chosen field, and that can overcome the slight disadvantages they may initially have. Another way of judging could be based on past performances, but this could lead to students who had less opportunities in their childhood to showcase their ability in a certain field to be constantly deterred from pursuing this new field of study. A philosophy class may be a luxury for disadvantaged schools, but a bright mind may dream of being able to one day deliberate the meaning of life.

Moreover, the very process of putting oneself to challenge is incredibly valuable to the development of a person's character. Through struggles and failure, the student can discover important qualities of him- or herself otherwise unknown. By putting carbon under extremely high pressure, diamond is produced. Overcoming barriers and challenges can be a highly rewarding process, that every person needs to go through at some stage in his or her life. By encouraging students to only pursue what they are best at, the college shield them from the necessary exposure of challenges in life. This overprotective policy may render them susceptible to breakdown later in life, if bigger difficulties were to arise, which they will.

As argued above, it is vital that educational institutions refrain from judgment of a student's potential in a field, for that judgment could be misplaced; and that educational institutions maintain a positive attitude towards exposing students to necessary challenges in life, especially when the students are determined to overcome them.