“Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.”

A well-rounded person refers to one that is not only skilled at his/her own field of study, but also a basic knowledge of other discipline. It is an ingenious idea for students to take courses covering imaginative literature such as fictions and mythologies. Nevertheless, college should encourage, rather than force students to take such courses. What is more, it is better to take students in different disciplines into consideration.

To begin with, it is a boon for students to dabble in imaginative literature. For students majoring in sciences, science fictions sometimes offer them unique inspirations. For instance, many crafts created and “designed” by Jules Verne like light-propelled spaceships are helpful to some groundbreaking technological innovations such as solar sails. Plus, for students in arts such as history and anthropology, such imaginative fictions could aid their research as a potential access to cross-discipline study. For instance, students in Asian history may find Chinese founding myth, which could reflect many of Chinese current social mores like importance of seniority, conducive to their own study. Other than all these benefits in research, imaginative literature cultivates students’ critical thinking, especially by encouraging them think outside the box, which could be a crucial skill in their future career, as technology companies pay increasingly attention to students’ creativity. Last but not least, college students commonly suffer from their difficult study and busy schedule, thus fictions and other imaginative literature could serve as a way to release their pressure, which could benefit their profound development. Furthermore, the essential part of poetry lies in the passion of living and pursuing of happiness. As Mr. Keating put in the famous movie “Dead Poet Society”, “Medicine, law… these are noble pursuits and necessary to sustain life. But Poetry, beauty, romance, love, these are what we stay alive for.”

Nevertheless, the statement that college should require students to study literature is based largely on the assumption that college has the legitimacy and responsibility to tell students what to do like parenting its children. It is untenable since as a college student, one should have adequate judgement to make decision on his/her own. For instance, a student already familiar with imaginative literature should be able to make choice on his/her own to study other field which they are interested in. otherwise, it would be a waste of time for them to listen to a longwinded lecture talking about everything they have already known. To simply put, college should respect students’ own choices based their own condition and preference. What is more, poetry and myth might be a beneficial supplement for college students because of their outstanding imagination, but they are after all not as important as students’ own major courses, which are keys to their future career and personal development. The requirement may backfire if it has adverse effects on students’ performances in their own discipline. Hence, the policy should not be a compulsory one.

To conclude, what a college is supposed to do is to expand their curriculum as large as possible and encourage and motivate, while not force students to take multifarious courses, which of course include imaginative literature. Those courses, as discussed above, are advantageous for students’ well-rounded development.