Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing or supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Justice is birth right of every individual. Though I agree that unjust laws must be disobeyed or resisted, but to every unjust law at all time and place, disobedience and resistance may cause turbulence in the government which I do not agree to. There are certain circumstances where this holds true but not ubiquitously to all cases.

To start with, let us consider the example of freedom movement of India. Led under the able guidance of Mahatma Gandhi, the best weapon and strategy of Indians was to not - Cooperate with the British government ruling India before freedom. They used to defy all laws made by the government, Dandi march, breaking of the salt law by the government, is the paragon of such tendency that Indian adopted. The history is full of such examples such as Indigo planting, quitting british goods etc. This non co-operation and defiance and resistance of laws was necessary for Indians to attain their freedom. In this case, since the government was autocratic and fascist, the defiance was justified being for the noble cause. In such cases of oppression and injustice, it is valid and infact becomes necessary to stand up against the government.

But we also have cases, where protesting and defying certain government laws can create a situation of chaos in the country and instead of being beneficial, it damages the social conditions of the nation further. Recalling the emergency declared in India in the reign of former Prime Minister, Ms Indira Gandhi. A certain section of India, Indian Sikhs, were demanding a seperate nation. Though they could have followed a democratic mean, by getting elected, tableing the bill in parliament etc, they opted to defy the government laws which caused a great deal of anarchy in the country. Emergency was declared by the government which dissolved soon after that. India suffered a great economic loss due to this disorder. In cases like these, defying and resisting government is not a benificial and best option. We must have the bigger picture in mind, whether our actions would cause long term good or bad to the society.

Not to ignore the absolute truth that, justice is a subjective term. What may be justice for one may not be justice for others. For example, having freedom to not go to school was justice for me in one's childhood. Because our understanding is limited. We are not able to see the greater good and benefit of things some times. Therefore, resisting and defying laws can prove to be disastrous then.

To conclude, I would say that indeed unjust laws must be resisted and defied but only in cases which has mass benefit attached to it with carried out with great social responsibility and prudence for greater good of all people. That justice must not be of limited scope and moreover, it must be the last option one resorts to.