The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this memorandum, the author concludes that the owner should adopt new policy that Galore stores should decrease their operating expenses to all other Movies Galore. This argument seems logical at first glance, but there are pieces of evidence that does not account for the validity of the conclusion.

First of all, the author needs to provide solid evidence on the last month Movie Glaore in downtown. He believes that shortening the closing time is to help a reduction of the operating expenses. However, it is possible that customers are actually not aware of this changed policy because it has been implemented about a month. Then, this might eventually does not really affect any operating expenses of Galore. Furthermore, reduction of any DVD released more than five years ago might cause another existing customers, such as elderly and some of classic moviegoers. Therefore, any reduction of closing time and of DVD that had been released more than five years would not reduce operating expenses.

Secondly, the author needs to supplement the argument with concrete information whether few customer complaints are marginal. If there are only marginal number of existing customers complain about new policy, then this is not marginal and thus it is significant that the owner should cancel new policies. Furthermore, even if very few customer complaints are marginal, that does not mean that the owner should adopt new policies to all other stores since the inherent characteristics of all other Galore stores might be different from Galore store in downtown. For example, store in downtown reap profits from new policies, but it could be possible that all other stores do have the same consequences such as closing early time. There could be potential customers who work until 6 P.M. and usually go to Galore store, but if they close early, then profits will decrease. Therefore, only one store in downtown cannot be generalized as all Galore stores.

Lastly, the author should provide more specific evidence on the soundness of the conclusion. If Movie Galore decreases operating expenses, it would cause income to decrease and thus decrease profits. Therefore, there is no causal relationship between declining profits and reducing operating expenses.

The argument are unconvincing on many grounds. To bolster the argument, the author should rule out the other possibilities aforementioned above.