The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava."The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students en

The city committee set a ten-year budget plan which proposes to cut funding for education while increase budget for adult recreational facilities. To support this budget plan a projection about the population of students will enroll in the local public school is made merely based on a comparison of birthrate between last year and five years ago. Similarly, another estimate about a growth of adult population bolster the suggestion to establish more programs primarily for adults. In my opinion, the lack of more concrete evidence to support the prediction of population constitution as well as the ambiguity of issues directly impact on school enrollment and recreational facilities makes the whole recommendation not convincing.

First of all, the only cited fact that the birthrate is dropping compared to 5 years ago does not predict the population trend for the next decade. Chances are that birthrate could go up dramatically from next year, which would boost the number of future pupils. Therefore, more evidences are needed to corroborate the projection about population of the next decade.

Furthermore, even a hypothetical declining birthrate does not suggest the students enrolled in public school in the next decade would fall dramatically. Because there are plenty of factors contribute to the enrollment rates. For example, the number of students enrolled in public school could be influenced by not only the domestic young people population, but also by people from nearby towns. It is possible that the student enrolled in the local school are partly from outside of the city, like from nearby area, which could trigger an increase in local school enrollments in the future. Besides, it is also possible that more parents with kids who would be attend the local public school migrate to this city in the next decade. Likewise, the competition between public school and private school would have impact on the number of students in public school, too. Therefore, in order to draw the conclusion about the student number for public school in next 10 years, the speaker obviously need to offer more evidence directly impact the school enrollment, like the possible factors discussed above.

In terms of the forecast about relatively increasing population of adults, it is also an unconvincing prediction due to an absence of more concrete evidences. In fact, this author failed to cite any evidence about why there would be more adults in the city whatsoever. Just because the falling of birthrates does not mean the increase number of adults. Furthermore, even if the proportion of adults are growing gradually, it is still not reasonable to assume they would need more programs and facilities which are designed primarily for adults, considering we don’t know if there are already plenty of these which probably haven’t been used fully. It is possible that more there programs would simply be a waste of funding if they won’t be put into use. Thus evidences about the current situation of established programs for adults are needed, as well as detailed issues which could affect the usage of relevant facilities and programs.

To conclude, there need more evidence to support the projection about population of the city as well as issues which could directly impact the proposed projects.