The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company is concerned about the movies not being advertised well. He believes that the public are not aware of the movies of this production company. In his view, the audience to this company's movies is less but the positive reviews seem to have increased. He argues that, a greater budget must be allocated to the advertising and awareness about the movies produced by Super Screen. His argument, though compelling at a cursory glance, is flawed. There are several factors that the director needs to consider before taking the final decision of budget allotment to advertising.

Firstly, though the number of people who attended the Super Screen produced movies were fewer than ever, the actual count of the reviews in the current year and the past years must be estimated. The enumeration is required to eliminate the vague idea about the reviews increase. It may be that though the positive reviews increased, the negative reviews also could have increased, of which there is no mention. May be the audience who disliked Super Screen movies, or gave negative reviews in the past, did not attend because of the lack of interest, and the reviews in the positive category seem to give an illusion of having increased.

Secondly, may be the content of the Super Screen movies is reaching the general audience. But they are willingly disinterested in attending Super Screen movies because of probably the higher ticket costs,or even better other Production house movies that same year.

Moreover, assuming that Super Screen movies are of good quality is a presumptuous point made by the advertising director. The content of the movies might be offensive to a larger percentage of public, or even boring and repetitive to some. Also, the actors working for the Production house might not be doing a good job. Thus, it is likely that because of these reasons, the general public prefers movies of other production house. And instead of leveraging more money towards advertising, Super Screen must divert it towards better actors, writers and quality content and videography.

Considering going through the negative and positive reviews of the audience, the company will get an idea of where it lacks in pleasing them. Also, establishing the argument of the advertising director on proper statistics and numbers for the people attending each year, and the actual reviews percentage in the current and past years, and looking into the quality aspects of Super Screen movies instead of assuming it to be good, the director;s argument will either be strengthened or weakened.