The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author claims here that super screen should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising. Stated in the way, the argument distorts the view of the situation by manipulating facts and by providing weak evidences. In support of this conclusion, the author reasons that fewer people attended super screen-produced movies during pas year, contents of some positive reviews are not reaching enough to their perspective viewers, problem lies not with quality of their movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. However, careful scrutiny of evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's recommendation. Hence, the argument can be considered unsubstantiated.

First of all, the arguments readily assumes that fewer people attended super screen produced movies because of lack of awareness of good quality of movies. This is merelt an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, If there were more attendies for movies then they are surely aware of super screen movies and their quality? So, they are aware about quality of movies. Hence the argument would have been much more cogent if it explicitly stated that they are not aware of their improved quality of their movies.

The argument readily claims that author alos points out that yet percentage of positive reviews by reviewers about specific super movies actually increase. This again is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between how many past reviwers and current reviewers. To illustrate further, may be their were more negative reviewers as compared to positive? May be their only some people who are giving them positive reviews, they can be from their company also? If argument had provided evidence that mention clearly about negative and positive reviwers quantity then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author cites that content of these reviewers are not reching to their prospective veiwers. May be they don't want to read about super screen produced movies as they wanted to read earlier when they didnt know about the quality of movies? May be people have lots interest in these kind of super screen movies. May be they are bored of seeing these kind of movies and not getting interesting stuffs to watch and enjoy ? Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with impression that claims made by author are more of wishful thinking rather than substantivte evidence.

In conclusion author is unoersuasive as it stands.