Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Everything in the world needs a formal process to happen successfully and in orderly manner, the same applies to education as well. Formal education is required for form base of students, on which they can build a building of their interest. According the author, formal education restrain our mind rather than set them free. 'All or nothing' expression of this statement poses a question on it.

In the formal education system, children go to school till their teen age and there they learn all the subjects such as language, math, arts, engineering. After high school they are ready to study field of their interest. Now, if we remove this formal system, children in the schools will be free to study whatever they want, at this time they might not have enough knowledge to choose what to study, even of their parents will help them in choosing subjects, it can't be guaranteed that their choice of subjects give them knowledge what they have to learn while growing. So the formal education system is required to give a base to students to start learning.

In formal education system, it required to learn history of inventions in all the subjects, which helps students to know what is been invented already in the history, otherwise they might invent something which is already invented years ago. For example, if a student who doesn't study in formal education system says he invented an electron, then it will be ironic, because electrons are discovered and being used from many years. Here formal education system benefiting students to teach them what is being already discovered and what are present or future problems needs to be solved or inventions can be done in particular subject.

There is always two sides of a coin. Other side of formal education system is that in some countries education system completely depend on good grades, some students can cram whole book and write in exam and get good grades while others studying by understanding and subjects might not get good grades. In this case most of the time students with good grades are getting preference in jobs or higher eduction admissions which is not good. For example, this eduction system followed in India, and good grades are always been a selection criteria for job or other school admissions. The students with good understanding but low grades sometimes end up paying price of not getting job and job industry has many people who have bookish knowledge but not practical.

Thus, in conclusion, presented statement can be accepted but with little modification that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free when it completely depend on good grades of students instead their understand of the subject.