Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author assists that formal education has possibility to restrain our mind. Some might agree with author because many people feel someone who had been taken formal education shows no characteristics and he can’t have great achievement. However, this essay show why this may not always in the case.

Admittedly, formal education tends make people constrain their mind. If people learn same knowledge without considering their preference, people tend to construe some phenomena as same and there’s no diversity. Then there must be no creativity and development. Mankind developed solving difficult problem. There can be one solution to solve this problem but there must be better solution. It is possible if there’s people with different knowledge, thinking and characteristic. As Darwin theory, evolution of species is based on natural selection which imply most fitting species survive in nature. Therefore, formal education tends to decrease credibility and it can be weakness in development of humankind.

However, formal education is essential for young people who are lack of basic knowledge. It is essential part of living in modern society and it will be the base of further knowledge. For example, if someone wasn’t educated how to ride bus, or how to write essay, or even traffic rule, it might have difficulty living in modern society. In conclusion, former education is needed for people who didn’t have understanding living modern society.

Moreover, formal education is economical because it is already well-established and stabilized. Customized education is so expensive and inefficient. For example, for the students with different interests, more teacher needed for each student. and new teaching material is needed for these students.

In conclusion, while the author’s claim might seem beneficial in certain conditions, in light of above counter points like economical factor and essential basic knowledge, the author’s claim cannot be agreed in full.