Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Education styles have always been a controversial debate recent years. While formal education has numerous merits for students, teachers, and society, some believe it could limit our minds and spirits to a narrow path. I strongly disagree with this statement and I think formal education's advantages deserve to disadvantages.

For the past centuries, formal education provide a great situation for students and guide them for improvement ranging from learning reading and writing to investigation for finding cure for diseases. For example, scientists use formal education and results of its finding to improve cure of cancer while without that it might lead to sporadic study and survey which may never lead to the result.

Another benefit of formal education is that present guideline and instruction for students, teachers and, parents. Without formal education student would miss their way and sporadic reading and experiment may waste their time and their energy. For example, a teenager which want to be an engineer easily could choose their major in the high school and university and pursue the curriculum of that major to achieve her goal. On the other hand, if she wanted to just read books and follow them might get embaressed of the result and always ask herself this method is right or not.

However, some claim formal education destroy sense of innovation of students and school and university style limit thinking methods of them. They learn think in just in some ways that have been learnt while it may have some other methods which lead to success more easily then formal education.

Although I do understand their anxious and accept to some extent their ideas, nevertheless, these weak points could be solved by some changes in school management or university curriculum and it is not necessary to change all of the structure.

In conclusion, though formal education may have some disadvantages and limit the spirits and minds of the student to some extent, I strongly reckon merits of formal education really deserve disadvantages and with some action the effects of these disadvantages could be lessened.