The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In d

There are copious countries around the world and all countries want to see their countries great. However, since the approaches for evaluating the greatness of countries is not defined, there is fervor debate while taking the criteria during the examination. The prompt argues that eminence of a nation is assessed by a content of the citizen, rather than scientific achievement, or popularity of the ruler. However, I disagree with the prompt. Commonly people take stance of countries based on achievement, and any achievement by luminary or leader can also enhance well-being of a citizen. It is true that quality of life of citizen is a strong indicator, but its greatness should not be hinged on welfare solely. a approach should be taken while evaluating greatness of the nation.

The superficial view of the people, regarding other nation, is based on the country achievement, leader popularity, or artist imminence. For instance, I, living in an Asian country, am cognizant about the European countries or American countries (South America and North America) through their worldwide known contribution and, also these aspects will shape us our view regarding the nation. I am aware of France by the contribution of Napoleon, or about Brazil through the success of Pele. This approach of the analysis is used, by a majority of people, to judge the nation greatness while only a few take a comprehensive approach.

The ultimate goal of achievement by a nation is to provide prosperity to the people. Any-break thought in science and technology will elevate people living status. For instance, any development of health research will aids citizen to cope with prevalent epidemics or disease. The success of artist will make people to vaunt about their country achievement, and also encourage citizen to take part in artistic performance, which ultimately provides good reputation for the country. Furthermore, any policies of a successful leader are related to people welfare, even though it may seem nocuous to people at first sight.

Finally, only depending on people welfare can obscure other parameter that should be taken into account for claiming a great nation. For instance, in Bhutan, there is happiness minister that deals with the gaiety of citizen. So, can we call it a great nation? It is not because even though it have high quality of life index, it lacks various parameter such as infrastructure development, low literacy rate and low military defense. Any minor offense can turn can bring upheaval in the country. It is largely influenced by its neighboring country India; thus, it is pertinent to take various factors, when it comes to deciding sovereignty of nation.

In conclusion, due to above-mentioned reasons; it is imprudent to take only single factor- the welfare of people- while assessing greatness of the nation. Therefore, various accounts should be taken while discussing greatness of the nation.