"Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Every devoted citizen becomes sceptical, when his government undertakes actions which are against public opinion. The issue of how government should construct its position has been ardent throughout the history of humanity. Today democracy is regarded as the prominent value for peoples all over the globe, especially in the Western countries, but Aristotle used to argue against it.

I believe, government officials should rely on their own mind in the majority of cases due to several reasons, however, they should always remember that they are temporal representatives of their people. Firstly, government officials are professionals in the field of politics. Secondly, political stage is a place of urgent decisions, thus, there in no way to consult public opinion in every case. However, officials are elected by their people, so there should be a substantial reason every time they operate in the opposite way of their people thinking.

Government officials are experienced people, who often possess the outstanding education and have been through a lot of obstacles in their career path. It is quite a challenge to obtain public recognition and get an influential position in the government. Extreme competition in the politics is a tool to create the finest leaders. Such professional have a broader and a deeper look at all the issues in the country, external or inferior. For instance, surveillance is against the public opinion, but it has proven to be a great tool to ensure security. There is no guarantee, that without it the world would be a better place, because one has to bear in mind that the world in not perfect now, and people have to accommodate to its current state. Thus, professionalism is the reason why officials should rely on themselves.

Besides, since there are so many issues in politics, it is impossible to consult with people every time. Presidents make countless number of flights every year, discussing the issues of prominent importance on the feet. They should bear in mind their strategy already, in order to be efficient. In addition, public opinion is swayed by the mood of broadcasting in the media, so this opinion is of temporal character. Thus, taken that the public opinion is important, it is impossible to always adhere to it on every single issue, that is new or tangent.

However, government officials are elected by their nation to represent views, believes and values of their people. Of course, it imposes certain moral restrictions on the room for individual views of the officials. Otherwise, if an elected official foes against his people, he betrays them. This will lead to revolutions which are without doubts, very harmful for a country. Surely, such result is not what people expect of their government. Thus, government officials should always keep in mind their responsibilities before the people who elected them, and do everything to amend their future, consulting with their opinion on the most important issues on the way.

Overall, I believe that government should have its own judgement in order to be efficient. However, the opinion of citizens should be never overlooked, even if sometimes it does not present the best strategy.