Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

The statement above establishes a dilemma often seen in the political scene-should decision be made based on an idiosyncratic judgement or should it represent the view of the people. This essay agrees with the latter position.

First of all, if a representative is to limit the amount of blame from a decision the safest action is to part with a census and follow the ordered directive. It may not be the case that a ruler share the public opinion, nevertheless, if the people request officials to commit to a course of actions unquestionably it will reduce the amount of liability and fault to be accountable for. In the case of immigration laws, Barack Obama allowed over 100 000 Syrian refugees in the USA. From surveys of public opinions, the majority of the population disagree with the decision and its abysmal consequences, such as terrorist attack from those refugees, was blamed on the former president due to his poor judgement in allowing them to cross border and live in the USA. Some people claims it may have tarnished the reputation of Hilary Clinton, who hold similar position and believes.

Second, when political elections take place, whether at the federal, state or local level, the ultimate goal is the vote of representatives embracing the dogma of their respective communities. In and of itself, it means that voters look for a political figure, who embody their individual believes and will advocate in favor of them. As a result, if a state stand in majority in favor of abortion, the governor should be holding that position during any federal election as the seat that was offered to him in the congress was for sole purpose to represent the view of the state majority.

Nevertheless, political figures are elected based on a certain level of skills and experiences recognize by the voters, who hold certain level of a trust of their expertise and vision. When the BP oil spills occurred in the Gulf of Mexico, population look out to the government officials for course of action to remediate to the noxious toxic fuels that polluted the water and destroyed marine life. This shows that the society believed those officials had previous experiences and could make an educated decision on how to handle this situation.

To conclude, to avoid taking the blame when a situation does not result as expected, government official liability decrease if they represented the public desire in expense of their own, which is the essence of an elected representative. However, in each official there is an expert in the field, who ought to use judgment, common sense and experience to handle a situation to its best.