Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Political leaders abiding by their own judgment could have more fruitful outcome for the development of their society. However, great government employees are able to listen to their people as well.

Clinging to their own decision, politicians can have an immense contribution to their society’s betterment. Generally, politicians are experts, and they have accumulated more experience in the field compared to people working in other fields. Political leaders are presumably capable of drafting national plans with far-sighted and overarching perspective, which is especially conducive to tackle on a problem with expedition. Former South Korean president Roh Moo-hyun serves as a compelling example. When there was an outbreak of SARS, a lethal epidemic assumed to have originated from China, president Roh insisted on quick and thorough containment of SARS. There was, however, severe opposition arguing that it is a waste of resources; people contended that government should set its attention on other matters, instead of focusing excessively on a disease. Despite oppositions, president Roh adhered to his plan and ensured there were no spread of disease and no casualties. His adamant tactic revealed to be a wise one that prevented huge detriments, which still inspires many countries in this present day and age with similar issues.

Nevertheless, the importance of an ability to listen to the public is not to be neglected by public servants. The role of government workers is to ameliorate their society that is comprised of people who trusted and voted them. Government officials ought to serve their people, their state, and their nation. Society’s demands change and politicians should listen to society’s new demands rather than abiding by their own knowledge. Recent passing of same sex marriage law in the U.S. cogently shows how a society can develop by their political leaders listening to their people. Rights of underrepresented people, in this case, people of LGBT community, are more warranted than ever before, thus even having a worldwide impact. Public servants are to work in tandem with the public for an ameliorated society that guarantees higher quality of life of everyone in the society.

All in all, while cleaving to one’s judgment is needed for an effective politician, the virtue of an ability to focus on the people’s needs is integral for government officials. Although extremely difficult, maintaining balance between the two will enhance security and welfare of a country.