Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Government officials in democratic nations are elected by the people under the assumption that they will best represent the people and their needs. The argument of whether government officials should rely on their own judgement or unquestioningly carry out the will of the people is complex and raises many issues. The purpose of government officials is to serve the people and to have their best interests in mind. With that said, it is not the responsibility of government officials to blindly follow commands of the people but to protect them and their well being to the best of their ability.

If government officials unquestioningly carried out the will of the people it is likely that some if not all of the people of that nation would suffer, because people are not always educated in politics or aware of the best way to handle political issues. Officials are placed into government because of their education, experience and expertise. Political issues of a national level are complex and can be difficult for a layperson to understand. Not every citizen is required to have an extensive education in politics or other national affairs. If citizens were allowed to directly make decisions for government officials, the likelihood of world wars would increase exponentially. For example, the war in the middle east is extremely sensitive and complex. Our government is dealing with nations that sincerely dislike Americans, if decisions were made by inexperienced and uneducated people, matters could be made much worse.

Additionally, to follow the commands of a population as a whole would be impossible because the ideals of different populations vary widely. The government and it's officials can not appeal to the whole population on every issue, all of the time. It is imperative that political leaders possess the ability to make decisions that reach a common ground and benefit the majority. If government officials followed the commands of the people, the population with the smallest representation would suffer tremendously. Government officials are assigned with the task of considering numerous sides of one argument and reaching a verdict that will appease both sides to the best of their ability. Such compromise would be impossible if officials unquestioningly carried out the will of the people.

While it is true that some government officials may be biased and serve ideals of their own therefore, it is important that great care is taken when electing these officials to ensure that they will protect the wellbeing of their citizens. If government officials were never expected to use their own judgement, the election process would be simple as no intelligence or moral character would be required. It is important to understand and accept that officials will have to employ their own judgement in some situations. Such knowledge empowers us to elect officials that are most fit to do so. Forcing officials to blindly follow the will of the people would not hinder them from acting on their own biases. The only way to prevent corrupt officials from entering office is to carefully screen each of them during the election process and make informed decisions when voting.

In conclusion, government officials should use their judgement, that has been augmented by their education and experience, to carry out the will of the people. Government officials that would blindly follow orders from the people are unfit and will not be effective. While it is true that they must protect the will of the people, it is important that elected officials be able to think for themselves and rationally decide what is best for the people.