Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future.

Present issues can be observed directly and impacts human society and natural world in tangible form, whereas anticipated issues are deduced from current social and environmental phenomena with prospective repercussions. The survival of a country is contingent upon addressing both types of problems. Therefore, governments must focus on both the immediate problems of the present and anticipated problems of the future.

Verily, any government has the entrusted responsibility to ensure well-being and survival of its citizenry. When people elect a government to power after, say, an economic crisis, pandemic, corruption scandal, etc.; they have certain expectations regarding healthcare, job opportunities, education and so on. When the government adopts policies and steps towards meeting these immediate needs, people get a sense of security and satisfaction. In such crucial times, if the government priorities lie in solving the unseen future problems using its limited resources, it will not only lose the trust of the people but will also fail in its prime responsibility of ensuring their general welfare. Moreover, addressing present problems bear positive results for the future also. For example, in India, women were discriminated and not allowed to work as their male counterparts. Implementation of women reservation, decades ago, resulted in a future where they are now contributing in every area of society from taking the role of prime minister to being a scientist. Similarly, effective measures for illiteracy act as an insurance policy against any possible slowdown of economy due to lack of skilled labors in the future.

On the other hand, governments also have the duty to safeguard the interests of next generations. Fulfilling this duty becomes more binding when many prospective problems such as population explosion, nuclear war, pandemics, climate change, etc. are coined to have consequences of epic proportions. Negligence on part of governments, to address such pressing future problems, could push the very existence of their next generations into doldrums. Thus, while government must spend on fuel price subsidy, free healthcare, education, etc.; they must also fund research on renewable energy; vaccines, international policy, population control, etc.

Furthermore, as the adage ‘a stitch in time saves nine’ asserts, a preemptively tackled issue doesn’t grow into a bigger menace thus saving a lot of resources and efforts of the government and the society. For instance, during the initial stage of COVID-19 pandemic, some western governments chose to worry about immediate losses to the economy and livelihood while deciding against taking early steps such as travel restrictions, lockdown measures, beefing up health infrastructure, and so on to tackle the spread of the infection. This allowed the problem to exacerbate bringing far greater and lasting damage to the economy and health of the people than the short-term loss expected from timely intervention. Therefore, the ideal strategy for any government would be to address both the present and anticipated problems.

However, problem arises in those situations when solving one problem entails compromise with the other. For example, African nations have acres of wilderness land but are still unable to provide food to its majority. Though, using such areas for commercial purposes may provide livelihood to a multitude; it may also result in extinction of many species; strip those nations from their natural heritage; and what not. Now, it is at this juncture where any government faces a dilemma: whether it must ensure the survival of the present generation or worry about the future of the next? Yet, with a holistic, sustainable and wiser approach, a government can come up with innovative solution catering the needs of both the present and the future. Conversion of wilderness areas into national parks in Tanzania aptly exemplifies such a wiser approach. This has not only ensured the constant income for local and national economy but also the preservation of those areas by the revenue generated through tourism related activities.

In conclusion, a government has the responsibility to ensure the well-being and survival of both present and future generations. While tackling current issues provide fruits for the future, timely intervention to solve predicted problems saves from epic consequences. Therefore, governments must focus on both the present and anticipated problems of the future. In instances, where tackling both problems appear contrary, they must come up with sustainable and innovative solutions to suffice for the both.