Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

To conduct research, sometimes, it’s required to have a governmental aid. In providing such a support, the statement above claims that the governments should not fund any research which has no clear results. I generally agree that to some extent the clarity of the results is needed, however, we cannot expect researchers to provide a full explicit portray of the results to get funds from the government.

To begin with, the results of a research should be estimated whether they justify the fund they are demanding. The budget of the governments is limited. It cannot be instinctively offered to the researches to do their research no matter what would be the results. Especially, in the poor countries with the deficit of the budget, any research should have some justifications in being financially supported by its potential results. It behooves the government to prioritize those who have more immediate results which become justified. For instance, when the researches on the Malaria diseases has lack of money the African nations cannot fund some researches which are subordinate in importance.

Moreover, the result of an experience should be clear in order not to undermine the trust of people toward their government. Here consider the ethical Issues that led the ban on the federal funds on the embryonic stem cell researches by G.W. Bush. In no more than a decade ago, there were controversial ethical issues on making use of the embryonic stem cell therapy. Furthermore, in that time such a therapy was not as promising as it is now. As the issue was quite polemical, the government was ill behooved to ban the federal funds on these researches. In 2009, with having solved the ethical issues and also with the consequence of these researches being clear, Obama lifts the restriction. With this example, we see that the researches should have some reliable potential consequences in order to be ethically legitimate to be funded. Otherwise, the credit of the government may be compromised.

However, there is a qualification; we cannot for sure say that what would be the result of any research. If the results are clearly seen, there would be no need of the researches to be carried out in the first place. It is the potential risks and it is the potential benefits that should be clear for any research to be legitimate and financially justifiable to fund. Hence some measures of uncertainty and unclearness exists among all the researches and the researches and it is natural.

In short, as discussed, beside some measures of uncertainty in all the researches, the probable outcomes of any research should be illustrated for the government authorities in order to receive any governmental fund.