Governments should offer college and university education free of charge to all students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

This topic raises a very controversial issue of whether, the Governments should offer college and university education free to all the students or not. Indisputably, there are many students who are not financially capable for paying the high amount of University fees. Thus, for the betterment of these students some sort of provision must be provided by the Government. But, giving education free to all the students is not the solution to the above mentioned issue. Therefore, I would disagree with the author and would argue that the College and University Education should not be free of cost.

Firstly, there are instances where this policy will be harmful. To illustrate this, let us take an example of student who wants an admission in the college. Now, as it is free of cost he would register himself in many of the Universities and then after the process select one of them. Thus, would hinder the candidature for some other student. Also, some students who will appear for some commerce related seat would enroll themselves for the science field as it is free. Thus, hinder someone who only might appear for science seat.

Secondly, to run the administration department of the college there are funds required. This funds generally come from the fees of the students. But, if the fees are rescinded than this funds will have to come from some other source which might affect the proper functioning of the College and University. Also, there are salaries that are to be paid to the staff members from peon to the Principal. Hence, this kind of step will surely occulde the progress of the society as a whole.

Admittedly, there must be some abridgement in the fees structure which will help society to grow. Decrement in the fees upto the viable amount is appreciable. There are students which will take this oppurtunity and have potential to show extrapolating growth in the academic field. Also, some sort of the scholarships might help students like sports scholarship, etc.

To sum up, the contention of the author that the education in College and University must be free of cost to all the students is indefensible. It is contrary to the overwhelming evidence that the decrement in the fees might be profitable. But, complete annul will not adhere towards the betterment of the Nation. Hence, the optimum amount of the fees in the Universities and Colleges is necessary. As far as some measurements are taken, or some cases are involved this conclusion holds credit.