Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition

Education is one of the most important tools to develop human potential in an economy. Governments throughout the world are the most important facilitators of the same. The role of government in ensuring that education is easy to avail and is serving the purpose is a pertinent one. However, governments its unwise to get the governments to bear the cost of university education of every student who has been admitted to a university but can't pay the tuition cost.

Firstly, with the cost of facilitating quality education shooting up, the provision would require the governments to increase their education budget drastically, which may not be in the favour of the economy. This would require a substantial diversion of funds from other plans. The huge capital dent may be trusted to deteriorate the overall well-being in the economy.

Secondly, the objective of getting the qualified students to attend college can be achieved by means which wouldn't require the government to drain its resources profusely. Governments create the policies of the entire nation, and alternatives like getting the banks to step in and avail softer loans (which can easily be repaid), to the students, or incentivizing High Net Worth Individuals (HNIs) to fund the university education through special schemes can do the job. The universities can itself be empowered to create endowments that can be used to fund education of the underprivileged qualified lot.

Then there comes the argument where it is not necessary for every individual in the economy to go the university. This specifically stands true for developing countries where the need for semi-skilled labour is considerably high. Facilitating education un-synched with the needs of the economy may push the country to a dangerous situation where there would be too many highly qualified workers who are not able to find jobs. A better idea in the given situation would be to avail it to individuals who would find it useful in their larger scheme of things.

Consequently, it can be said that the idea of getting the governments to fund the education of every under-priviledged student at the university level would not only drain the resources of the government, but would compromise on the other more effective policies. Instead, strengthen the primary education framework to enable every individual to garner the basic knowledge would go a long way. At the same time, mobilising the other players in the economy to take care of the education funds at the university level would do the job.