Governments should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.

In my opinion, the government should offer free education to students who get admission to a college but cannot pay the fees.

Making education free for those who are admission to a university ensures that the deserving students get an opportunity to educate themselves. Such students are truly meritorious but do not have the financial ability to pay for exorbitant fees. They have to give up on their dreams and settle for a meager job. That is why providing free education for deserving students is necessary.

By allowing such talented but poor students to get education, the university enhances the probability to give rise to distinguished alumni. This, in turn, has a positive effect on their reputation. There are endless stories of personalities who began from nothing but ultimately became successful. It is the diligent, hard-working students from humble backgrounds who are quite successful and so, financial support in form of tuition waiver must be considered.

Another factor that must be taken into consideration is the phenomenon of 'brain drain'. The deserving students may decide to go abroad where education is more affordable. For example, many universities in Germany offer education without charging a penny in tuition fees. Therefore, the students may decide to study in such countries, settle there and contribute to the economy of that country. The home country is losing valuable resources: skilled professionals.

However, it is quite possible that such a scheme may lead to corruption. The students who can actually afford the education, may also want to avail this scholarship. In such cases, they may go to any extent to ensure this happen. Care must be taken that such individuals are not allowed the scholarship.

In spite of a few drawbacks, this scheme is important and quite necessary too. Therefore, I believe that the government should offer a free university education to any student who has been admitted to a university but who cannot afford the tuition.