Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

In a world today with rapid development and innovations, scientific research helps a country grow in an eclectic group of fields and will increase the country’s economy. However, the government should restrict the proliferation of scientific research as it has a negative impact in many ways. Scientific research may mainly effect common public, environment. The ways in which scientific research may affect are stated below.

Firstly, scientific research or development in a field such as space research requires huge amount of money. However, the research may not guarantee a successful outcome. Many countries face numerous problems in destitution, unemployment and development of the country. For example, taking India in to consideration, there is a lack of funds to overcome poverty, development of basic facilities like schooling for poor children and providing food to every single person in the country. Under these circumstances, it is more important to the government to spend money of the basic needs of people rather than squandering on scientific research.

Secondly, the effect of nuclear technology has adverse effects on the planet. With the burgeon in the research especially in nuclear technology, it has helped may countries to solve some problems and secure the country from the extremists and terror. But, it should not be forgotten of how the war in Hiroshima by the USA had destroyed their territory. Hiroshima has been sullen in the war and hasn’t recovered even after more than 50 years. This war also had an irreparable effect on the environment. Hence, after this war the USA government has put restrictions in the use of nuclear technology.

Scientific research and development has helped to cure many diseases over the past few years. However, using medicines for minute problems has effected humans. Over dosage of medicines has acerbic effect of the human body when compares to Alcohol. Due to this there have been situations where the medicines had a negative effect on the human system.

All in all, the government should place restrictions in the field of scientific research and development to some extent. There are many other problems that need more funding and help from the government to thrive. Also, the misuse of technology has to be kept in mind before creating a new possibility.