The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

The greatness of a person can be defined by the evaluation of the philanthropic work done by him. There were many leaders or individuals in history to present, who had achieved the greatness in their life because of the paragon work. It is not necessarily true that the greatness of that person comes into picture after the demise. We have many examples who have proved their mettle of greatness and still doing it for noble cause.

Although, greatness can be called as a level of extant that has set the limit in a particular field. So, for some people, it may sense as normal achievement but accepted by world as excellent work as a whole.

The prominent example to support my argument is from history - Mahatma Gandhi. He was a great person who fought with Britishers for the freedom of India. He opted the way to fight with non-violence ideology. At first, his thinking was considered in jocular way but as the time passed, he became one of main leaders in the freedom movement of world's biggest democratic country. He was rewarded with the title of "Father of the nation", and played a great role to reform the country from scratch. Critics will argue with the time frame of his achievement and definitely, it took long for him to prove his thinking but in the end, he was not accepted as a great leader of the world. So, even great leaders of his time were also following him in his tenure of life.

From the history to the present life, there are many people who have been seen as a great leader. To bolster my argument, second example is, Sachin Tendulkar. He was a great Cricket Player and retired in last few years. But his greatness in his field was observed many of years ago. He had mastered his class and elegance in the cricket field which turned, many of people who never followed cricket, in his fan base. His greatness is an example of greatness acquired in the present time, while living those great moments.

The assertion of my viewpoint is that the greatness can be measured by time as a bar but it is not the only factor which decides it. There can be many examples in history who achieved it after they had gone, but its not universally true. One more example is Kailash Satyarthi, awarded by Nobel Peace Prize, along with Malala Yousufzai. Both persons has an age difference of more than 30 years in between them and the prize can be seen as the greatness of their work.

The greatness is something that comes into picture when it matters the most. Some great people has fallen after the line of their life but many examples are still living with it.