The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

There are a large number of reasons and a variety of standards to judge the greatness of an individual. Among these, here is only concerned with the extraordinary achievements of an individual, either what he does, or what he thinks. And he, either after his death or in his own lifetime, has played a significant role in the human beings’ society. Therefore, the greatness of individuals can be decided not only by those who live after them, but also by their contemporaries.

Some people’s greatness are decided by those who live after them, because during their lifetime their contemporaries couldn’t understand their ideas or appreciate their works with the limitation of recognition. For instance, Vincent Van Gogh, a great post-impressionism painter in the European art history, hadn’t become famous until his death. It was only one of his 2100 artworks that was sold at the price of 400 Francs a few months before his death. Afterwards his works, notable for their rough beauty, emotional honesty and bold color, becomes well-known among his colleagues, dealers, artistic critics, and collectors, who recognize the value of his works that broke free of the naturalism of impressionism and pursued unique means of artistic expression. Up to now, his paintings have been providing inspirations to millions of artists around the world, who begin placing Gogh’s artworks on many different novelty items.

Furthermore, the greatness of an individual can be judged by his contemporaries like Bill Gates, an American business magnate and philanthropist. his greatness is not only because he invented the world’s personal-computer software(MS-DOS and Windows operating systems) and introduced us to the world of computers, but because he pursues a number of philanthropic endeavors. For one thing, he, as the pioneer of personal computer software, has introduced us to the era of personal computer, dramatically having changed the world and altered our lives. For another, he, a well-known philanthropist in the world, has donated large amounts of money to various charitable organizations and scientific research programs——finding a solution of the diseases like HIV, promoting the global development, improving the welfare of more of the world’s people, and so on.

In addition, the greatness of an individual can be appreciated by both his contemporaries and those who live after him. Take a look at Deng Xiaoping, he had implemented the policy of reform and opening-up in China in the late twentieth century, lifting millions of Chinese people out of poverty and radically revitalizing the economy in the country. Since then, China’s economy has multiplied and now has become the second economy in the world. Moreover, his idea, ‘peace and development’, successfully solved the return of Hongkong, which had been dominated by the United Kingdom. His achievements—economic reform and peaceful development—have immense impact abroad.

Therefore, I disagree with the standpoint of the greatness of an individual only decided by those who live after him. In fact, the greatness of individuals should be able to stand up to the realistic evaluation made by anybody at any time.