The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether the greatness of someone can by decided with the people living during his life or other people who come after him. Indisputably, some people were discovered their significant contributions to human's life after their death. Nevertheless, many others were honored and awarded for their contributions during their lives. Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that the greatness of individuals can be only decided after their death and would argue that many individuals greatness can be also decided by their contemporaries.

First of all, the individual greatness has many meanings for people. One of them is someone who achieves somthing which people consider is big contribution in life. I would like to point at that this achivement is usually difficult for anyone to reach. to illustrate further, let's look at the example of inventing light pulp by Thomas Edison. The light pulp change the whole world. In his circumstance, this scientist is considered a great person for this invention.

Furthermore, many people were honored with big prizes during their lives. One of them is President Sadat, Egyptian president, he was honored for his invitation to his enemy for peace and stopping war. He was considered as one of the greatest people at this time. He was recognized by all people who lived at this times and people who come after him. Both common sense and personal experience have told that the individual greatness depends on the people awareness of how big this individual's achievements is.

Admittedly, there are many examples in history about individuals who were decided as great people after their death. they were ignored by people living at the same time of history. However, the above statement does not constitute sufficient evidence that how only the greatness of individuals can be decided by those who live after them.

In conclusion, the greatness of an individual can be decided by both their contemporaries and who lives after them. This greatness depends on the awareness of people about this individual achievements and the meaning of someone's greatness.