Issue On 14 :100. Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

At an age of globalization, it is not weird that more and more students have a plan of or have been studying abroad. Studying abroad is a double edged sword that both students and education institutions should judge throughly. While some believe studying abroad for a semester is a valuable and precious experience for students, others might have different opinion.

At the first place, studying abroad for a semester is a excellent opportunity for students to broaden their eyes and experience different culture. On the one hand, by spending a semester in a foreign university can improve the research ability of students. For art students, if they can spend a semester in French and visit various museums, there is no doubt the magnificent masterpieces would have a great influence on their creation. For science students, they would have a chance to exchange ideas with foreign professors and to do experiments in foreign laboratories. On the other hand, living abroad for a period of time can motivate students to adapt a different environment and to learn a different language. The experience is also beneficial for their future by fostering them to be independent and adaptive.

However, require all students to study abroad may be unjustifiable. For students who cannot afford to study in a foreign university for a semester, this required policy is embarrassing. For students whose language ability is not strong enough to converse with foreigners, the life abroad may be pretty hard. There must be some students who are not suitable to study abroad, thus this required policy would ruin their semester and make them fall behind without noticing.

How to make every students satisfying is another issue we need to consider. The key issue is that the university should encourage students to study abroad and provide necessary assistance rather than require them to study abroad. Furthermore, a fundamental task the university has to do is evaluating every students about their language ability and independence before giving them the chance to study in foreign schools. For students who are unsuitable to study abroad, the university can set up special indigenous classes to help them keep pace with others.

In conclusion, although there are many advantages to study abroad, the policy of requiring every student to study abroad should be adjusted and each student should be taken into account.