It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement makes an outright claim that an individual's character is defined by his/her social community. The statement is mostly true as we can see in our daily life examples. Human beings are social animals, it is nearly impossible for people to live alone. Even great minds like Sherlock Holmes need a John Watson. We are biologically programmed to form groups and communities which will ensure our survival in this world.

We by and large identify ourselves with people from our country or state or language. For instance, in a country like India where there are many languages, this can be seen evidently, If a person travels from one state to another, he/she will immediately feel comfortable, if they found someone speaks their language. They in turn go on to help them in the new city. It is amazing as well as surprising how the 'connection' develops to an unknown stranger from the same group. This can also be seen if people move from one country to another. They form their own clubs, groups and communities and organize events that enable to stay in touch with their roots. The most likely reason for this is that the culture and tradition of that person's upbringing is intertwined with his/her life. It is very difficult for a man to completely forget his origin and live.

If asked, 'where are you from', the answer to that question is more than just a place's name. People start association their prior knowledge about the place like the activities of people there, the values they follow etc... Another small scale example would be our friend's circle. A teacher can judge the character of a student by knowing about the friends' he hangs out with. There is a famous saying one of the indigenous language in India that says 'Tell me about your friend, I will tell about your character' because an average teenager practically spends 75%-80% of his/her time with friends thus they become an integral part of our lives.

Most of the parents would warn their kids about bad peer groups, this is not about the question of self-control but the innate human nature of being in sync with the social groups.

Another great example would be in work place. In the process ofjob hunting, all the companies will invariably ask for references or recommendation from someone who is already working in that company. This is for assessing the candidate by knowing his social circle. While, this may not be entirely responsible for his/her recruitment process but a bad reference has high chances of bringing down a meritorious student. Thus, professionally and personally we are connected to people like a spider's web which makes it mandatory for us define ourselves with our social groups.

Having said that, one should not forget that an individual is capable of living independently to certain limits and many a times our work has become our identification. For instance, a person can be known for his/her achievements; for creating something new, for scoring perfect grades, for cooking an amazing dish etc.. There are many exceptions to the statement but in most of the scenario it is difficult for a human being to be solitary and indeed, birds of same feather flock together holds true for most of the cases.