Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Laws are created to protect society. They are created not simply to protect people alone, but also their interesets as a group. Hence, laws of the land vary depending on the society they are created for. It is the very reason vast countries, such as the United states have seperate laws pertaining to each state.

However, what is commonly agreed upon on most of the systems of law is that while the application of the law remain categorical, it must not be self destructing. The law need not be strong enough to charge every single miscreant as guilty but it must not be a means to wrongly convict people.

It would be detremental to the society if the rigidity of the law would prohibit the defendant to present a convincing case. Consider a law on convicting for murder, that an individual be arrested if he/she was the cause of death of the victim. The crime, however may not have been done with the same intention by every individual. Its possible the defendant may have been merely defending himself from the victim. Without entertaining the circumstance of the crime, innocent people, with no intention to commit the crime, could be convicted in the same light as the one’s who do it on purpose.

This being said, allowing unrestrained flexibility may not be entirely favourable in enforcing the law to any effect. For meticulous consideration would require time and resources that may not be always avaialable. Further, a delayed judgement may not be effective in enforcing strict laws, for it is rightly said that “Justice delayed is justice denied”.

In conclusion, there is definite vailidity to the statement that laws need to be flexible. However, the laws should also be specific enough to allow for a timely judgement of the crime, without which their presence becomes inconsequential.