Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

It is no doubt that law has been playing an important role in human society from ancient to modern times. It doesn’t only become the stabilizer of the society, but the code of every member in our society. The body of law in a nation is a complex system, consisting of a series of laws and regulations, for example, hundreds of laws and thousands of local regulations have been enacted by the Chinese government at present. How complex the body of the law is, so I disagree the statement that laws are flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

First of all, if laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places, legislators will be obliged to constantly track the changes of various kinds of things that exist in our society, resulting in the increase of their work volume and the rise of the social cost from investigation of the fact to the enactment of new laws. At the same time, it seems to be a challenging and impossible task for legislators to take account of various circumstances, times, and places, because sometimes human beings must admit the limitation of their ability of cognition. On the other hand, laws are the code of people’s behavior in a society. Laws that take account of various circumstances, times, and places might reach the expected effect. For instance, an offender who runs red lights will be fined ten yuan each time, which is enacted in China new traffic laws in order to punish the ‘Chinese way of crossing the road’. In spite of this, the phenomenon didn’t disappear. I think it is a wiser way to educate people rather than punish them by economic sanction.

Secondly, laws being flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places will make lawyers, judges, and juries more difficult to assess the guilt to what laws should be applied. For one thing, they must learn so many tomes of laws and remember these obscure articles of law, and, most importantly, update these knowledge, which are a huge project of spending a great deal of energy and time. for another, people’s memory is far less than the capacity of computers and it is more difficult to correctly locate the curtained articles, compared to computers. So, facing the increasing articles of laws, they will be harder to assess the guilt, and even make mistakes in handling cases, not to mention that the ordinary people would be confused by so many articles of laws.

In addition, flexible laws taking account of various circumstances, times, and places may supply criminals more opportunities to plead for themselves. In general, offenders like to find legal loopholes in order to exonerate them. They try to find the difference between the traditional laws and the new laws to be absolved or extenuate their crimes.

In conclusion, I deem that it isn’t advisable that laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.