Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developi

The author of this issue states that laws should be enforced flexibly, taking different situations into consideration. Due to the controversial nature of the question, there is not a general argument on this topic. I, however, to a great extent agree with the statement.

By and large, it is established beyond doubt that our laws can not cover every situation in real life, which means that there are a lot of cases could not been defined in current laws. In these cases, rigidly enforcing law, will not only be inapporpriate by also impair the authority of justice. To elucidate more on this issue, let us boldly image that a careless mother wnet into a supermarket and, irresponsibly leaving her little child in the car. The kid was breathening difficultly inside the car and no one could open the door. Fortunately, a man decisively breaked the window and free the boy out. In this case, should the man be sued for breaking other's property and asked for compensation? I bet no one will say yes. We should take the emergency into account, instead of superfacially judging the case based on the physical act itself.

For another thing, the essential of law should be its function that guides people to do well other than punishes and intimidate people. The reminds me of a case happening a few years ago. At the day of the College Entrance Exam in China, a student was late to the examination hall for two minute and was rejected to enter, losing his opportunity to take the exam. This case aroused a big discussion in China lately. Some people said that the student was to be blamed and should take all the responsibility. As a student myself, however, I could totally image how nervous and regretful that student felt at that time, and I am surely to say that he definely would not do it again if it happened one more time. In my opinion, since he has deeply learned a lesson, he deserved one more opportunity. If our laws and rules could not give poeple who sincerely acknowledge their faults a chance, our society certatinly will be filled with hatred.

However, what I alluded to above cannot be overgeneralized to all context. Alongside with the beneficial aspects it has, someone may argue that what if a guy always try to get forgiveness from laws and public but not corrects his behaviour. For the reason, I want to add that the flexbility dose not mean that we tolerate everything blindly but treat them critically.

In light of the reason elaborated, I reiterate that laws should be flexible and critical, taking different circumstances into account. Indeed, the purpose of law is to build a harmony society instead of filling the prisons.